Lovely Letters I September 2014

Lovely Letters Snail Mail Exchange
Hello again!
I’m so excited to write this comeback post! I haven’t blogged since I’ve been back in the States, but am super excited to share about this Lovely Letters Snail Mail Exchange I’ve had the pleasure to be a part of.
What is Lovely Letters Snail Mail Exchange? 
Welcome to Lovely Letters, a snail mail exchange where we pair you up with new blogger pen pals every month. We try our best to pair you up with someone in a different country or at least a different part of the country so you can have friends wherever you go! See all the previous exchanges here.
This month’s theme: COMFORT
This month my partner was Hsiao-Ting Chou (pronounced “shouting chow”) from San Francisco, California! I was so happy and thankful to link up with her through Lovely Letters. Reading through her blog entries really reminded me of the days I used to travel. She mainly blogs about God, food, travel, natural organic beauty products, Asian beauty products, and new experiences. You can check out her blog HERE.
I didn’t get to take a photo of the items I sent her, but I’ve listed some of the items below. I tried to think what comfort meant to me. From looking through Hsiao’s travel entries, I thought back to the days when I used to travel and what brought me comfort.
  • a box of pepero and a couple turkish delights
  • cards & stationary
  • a couple tea bags
  • cucumber and water face masks
  • nail polish

After a few email exchanges and the snail mail exchange, we realized we have a lot in common! Hsiao was so thoughtful and sweet. I’d say this was a pretty special exchange… I received TWO packages from her (she sent a 2nd package as a card swap)!

PhotoGrid_1412143552690

The contents of the package really made me feel like I received a Welcome back to America! package. I’m so thankful to be paired up with her.

Top photo:

  • TCHO mokaccino chocolate: super intense but rich with flavor. I can’t wait to try another TCHO!
  • Cards, cards, cards: We did a card swap! I’ve come to collect stationary.
  • Notebook: We’re both a fan of writing in notebooks, especially when we travel to log our experiences and thoughts.

Bottom photo:

  • Tea bags: I don’t drink coffee, but I enjoy trying different kinds of tea. I’m super excited to try them because they had very unique aromas and I’ve never tried any of those brands or flavors before.
  • Travel size notebook and pen: I’ve started to use this to record new recipes and food I’ve been cooking.
  • Taiwanese style eggs: I LOVE EGGS. She was so thoughtful enough to send me an egg recipe!
  • Instant milk tea pack: I didn’t know such a thing existed, but after being deprived of bubble milk tea for a year I’ve become an addict.
  • Magnetic bookmarks: These are the coolest! I’ve started to read (physical) books again so I’m excited to use these. And they’re grey! My favorite color!!
  • Asian candy: Hi-Chews and the jelly candy Hsiao sent are coincidentally the EXACT Asian candy that I treasured from care packages while I was abroad. The honeydew flavor is my favorite!
  • Collagen & Aloe Vera Hydro sheet mask: Hsiao bought this one from London during one of her travels. Generally I really enjoy hydration facials and masks. They’re good for all skin types and your skin feels very refreshed afterwards. Looking forward to trying it!

Dates to remember for OCTOBER’s Snail Mail Exchange:

  • Sign ups are open until Oct 6th midnight EST. You can sign up HERE (FOR BLOGGERS ONLY. If you don’t have a blog, you can always start one!)
  • You will get paired with your pen pals by the 9th and begin getting to know them.
  • Send out your packages by Oct 20th. Stay under the 7 USD limit and the THEME: Fall/Halloween
  • TRACKING ON PACKAGES ARE NOW REQUIRED TO PREVENT LOST MAIL.
  • Write about your experience and link up on Oct 31st (the last Friday of the month).
4 comments

  1. Welcome back to blogging! I love your new layout and the cute elephant background!! I just finally posted my lovely letters post too … was running behind! So happy to be paired with you and can’t wait to read more updates on what’s going on with your life 🙂 Happy hump day!

Leave a Reply

